Economic Justice Economics Labor Rocky Anderson

Conference call with Rocky Anderson and Ralph Nader, Sat May 4

A CONVERSATION WITH
ROCKY ANDERSON AND RALPH NADER

Rocky Anderson and Ralph Nader

Raise the Minimum Wage

Saturday, MAY 4
12 PM ET / 11 AM CT / 10 AM MT/ 9 AM PT
for one hour

RSVP below.

You will receive an acknowledgement via email containing the call-in instructions.

__________

Ralph Nader is a well known political activist, attorney, lecturer and consumer advocate, who gained notoriety as a crusader of car safety reform in the ’60s. In 1971, he founded the consumer advocacy group Public Citizen and has continued to be an opponent of unchecked corporate power. He entered the U.S. presidential race multiple times in the ’90s and ’00s, as an Independent and as the Green Party nominee. (Learn more athttp://nader.org/.)

Currently, Mr. Nader with the Center for the Study of Responsive Law, has launched Time for a Raise to increase the federal minimum wage as a measure to help lift people out of poverty and improve the economy as a whole. The CEO of Wal-Mart earns $11,000/hr while his employees earn $7.25/hr, a rate that when adjusted for inflation is lower than the pay rate of Wal-Mart employees in 1972. While worker productivity has markedly increased since the 70’s, income has stagnated since then for most wage earners. Learn how raising the minimum wage will help to left all boats and what you can do to help real people in the new economy. A question and answer period will follow the discussion. (RSVP below.)

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Website: Time for a Raise
Minimum Wage Raise Essential to Fix Our Economy
The Cruel Gap Between CEO Pay and the Stagnant Minimum Wage
April: Show Up To Catch Up With 1968
Getting Tough on Devastating Corporate Crime
Walmart Bosses: Time for a Decision
Time for a Sales Tax on Wall Street

Comments

comments