Jobs Labor Republicons Washington State Politics

Voters to Grand Obstruction Party: Where are the jobs?

Why the Grand Obstruction Party hopes obstructionism will lead to feudalism. (Thom Hartmann) August 6, 2013 Folks here in Washington State, across America, likely throughout the civilized world, and quite possibly in neighboring galaxies have a new name for Republicans: the G.O.P. Nope, not the Grand Old Party of upstanding statesmen from Lincoln to Eisenhower, […]

Corporations Economic Justice Labor Role of government

Costco is great, but altruistic business leaders won’t rebuild the middle class

Here’s a reason to renew your Costco membership: not only does the company pay its average worker $45,000 per year, it has also resisted pressure from Wall Street to cut wages and benefits since going public in 1985. That anecdote came out in a BusinessWeek interview with Costco CEO Craig Jelinek, who said that instead of bowing to […]

Economic Justice Labor Media Union Support

Fast food workers strike, but where's the coverage?

The Nation is reporting today “Beginning at 10:30 PM Pacific Time Wednesday, workers at dozens of Seattle fast food locations plan to strike, launching the nation’s seventh work stoppage by fast food employees in eight weeks. Organizers expect workers from chains including McDonald’s, Burger King, Taco Bell, Subway, Arby’s, Chipotle, Qdoba, and Jack in the […]

Health care Labor Rodney Tom Washington State Politics

Senate approves potential repeal of Paid Family Leave, bill moves to House

It hasn’t been a good week for working families in the Washington State Legislature. On Monday, the Senate passed an amended version of SB 5903, which will repeal the Family Leave Insurance system if a funding mechanism is not identified in 2014. The bill will create a taskforce of eight legislators to fund the system. If no […]

Economic Justice Economics Labor Rocky Anderson

Conference call with Rocky Anderson and Ralph Nader, Sat May 4

A CONVERSATION WITH ROCKY ANDERSON AND RALPH NADER Raise the Minimum Wage Saturday, MAY 4 12 PM ET / 11 AM CT / 10 AM MT/ 9 AM PT for one hour RSVP below. You will receive an acknowledgement via email containing the call-in instructions. __________ Ralph Nader is a well known political activist, attorney, […]

Corporations Labor Taxation Washington State Politics

Boeing is going, so time to woo new plane makers

What rhymes with going, going, gone? How about Boeing, Boeing, bawn? That doesn’t make sense in English, but it sure hits the nail on the head with the once loyal, Washington-state born, bred and based Boeing Company. Every sign points toward Boeing’s departure from our state. I never thought I would see this day. When […]